Even in MY Discomfort

indexSpiritual discomfort is something we all experience in life.  Discomfort can come with difficulties, trials, tribulation, or some type of hardship. To let the truth be told, for me, it is when I cannot see nor understand what God is doing.  I want to KNOW!   Yet, because of God’s infinite wisdom he knows what is best for me. Although, I want to know, I might not be equipped.

Do you recall in II Kings 6:15-17 when Elisha’s servant woke up surrounded by the Arameans King’s army.  That sounds like an uncomfortable situation.  He was at a loss because he had no idea how God was going to work and/or deliver them out of their situation.  He said, “Oh, my Lord! What are we going to do?” Elisha tells him to fear not because there were more of those who are with them than those who were against them.  Elisha then prayed and asked God to open his spiritual eyes.  I am sure it was more comforting knowing that there were chariots of fire that surrounded them versus trusting in his on natural abilities. God eqiups at the appropiate time.

The example that dropped into my spirit around “discomfort’ happened  when I was a little girl (six years old). I recall my teacher choosing me to be “Peter Peter Pumpkin Eaters” wife.  It stressed me out to no end.  Because as a child I was walking into unfamiliar territory.  I didn’t want to be anyone’s wife let alone have my classmates tease me. You might think how does she remember that. It left a mark.   It caused me discomfort because playing that role stretched me.  Yes, I suffered some growing pain. Did I shed some tears? Of course, I did.  I also learned the importance of being flexible and versatile.

IMG_6657

When my daughter and I run we extend the distance each time we hit the track.  Every time the distance is extended, uncertainties surface. Will I be able to go and extra 2 or 3  minutes?  My breathing may become slightly labored but our prior training equips us for the race.  God’s grace is sufficient for me and in my weaknesses he makes me strong (II Corinthians 12:9-11).

When God is stretching us and growing us as Christians he takes us beyond what we have already experienced.  Taking us from what we know to what is possible. If the natural realm mirrors what is happening in the spirit realm then stretching has to happen until what is manifested in the spirit is reflected in the natural. A quote from Oswald Chambers, an early 20th century Baptist and Holiness Movement evangelist, who said:

“Patience is more than endurance. A saint’s life is in the hands of God like a bow and arrow in the hands of an archer. God is aiming at something the saint cannot see, and He stretches and strains, and every now and again the saint says, ‘I cannot stand anymore.’ God does not heed, He goes on stretching till His purpose is in sight, then He lets fly.

As I set in the Sunday morning service, not knowing what my next blog post would be these words settled in my spirit.  “Even in my discomfort, I will run to you” .  Discomfort is something that can’t be ignored but it can be overcome.  We (Believers) are overcomers by the blood of the Lamb and by the words of our testimony (Rev. 12:11).  It is in my discomfort when I learned where and who I am in Christ.  It is when my spiritual muscles grow. It is when my spiritual eyes are challenged and my faith in a trusting Father is stretched.  I don’t have to know every aspect of my life.  All I need to do is trust and run to him.

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54493_202_96FD432FCA2F94B8A0813D775176235D

20 thoughts on “Even in MY Discomfort

  1. This is so good : When God is stretching us and growing us as Christians he takes us beyond what we have already experienced.

    I love that truth! What a relevant topic and post to what I needed to read/hear today! Thanks for sharing your heart and reminding me it’s ok to be uncomfortable! xoxo

    Like

  2. Nice reminder to trust God when things are looking bad. That is something that I struggle with because the uncertainty causes my anxiety levels to shoot up, but I’m still working on it.

    Like

  3. Such a great point. Those moments of discomfort lead to such amazing things… I was reminded of the birth pains that lead to great life… personally speaking and from Revelations…

    Marissa

    Like

  4. Spiritual discomfort brings in so much fear. And yet God has not dropped me yet. I really liked the story of Elijah. I am going to be praying that God will surround our persecuted brothers and sisters with chariots of fire.

    Like

  5. Hi! I’m visiting from The Peony Project! I have been going through some discomfort lately, and it took me awhile to accept what God was doing. Instead of running to Him as you stated, I think I tried to run from Him. As you said, He knows what’s best even when we don’t. I will definitely remember your words in the future and RUN TO HIM!!! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

