Happenstance (A Chance Circumstance)

4af9c09eca4a9

If you have read my “about me” section you know I have worked for the same company for 37 years.  If I could have lööked into the future when I was young I never would have imagined that I would have worked for the same company for so many years.  In fact,  I recall when I attended my first company retirement party I was amazed that someone could or would work for a company for that long.  So was it happenstance (a chance circumstance) or God’s ordering my footsteps?

Honestly, it was not my plan to stay, and I did leave once.  Work had slowed down and people were being shifted around from days to nights.  Since I was in school, I decided to take a voluntary layoff. After working in retail and another telecom company, I realized I was working hard but not reaping many benefits.  I was working weekends and holiday’s while my friends were out having a good time.  So, I contacted the human resource department to get my job back, and never lööked back, well, maybe once or twice.

My plan was to obtain an accounting degree and crunch numbers (I am an introvert by nature but my family and friends might not agree).  My plan was to have a little corner office and keep to myself.

Jeremiah 29:11 says I know the plan I have for you plans to proper you and not harm you plans to give you hope and a future.

Well, I didn’t get an accounting degree because the school I planned to attend did not have an accounting degree program, so I opted to obtain an economic/finance degree.  It seemed like an indirect path to that corner office. Can you believe I went on a number of interviews and the door I was trying to enter into  just would not open?  Finally, I went on an interview for a financial planner position in the purchasing department.

The manager called me a few days later and asked me if I ever thought about being a “Buyer”.  My answer was “No”.  He informed me that they wanted me to apply.  I told him I would think about it.  When I interviewed with this manager he did not leave a good impression, consequently, applying for the job he suggested was the furthest thing from my mind.  My mother asked me after the interview what did I think.  I told her that I didn’t like him and I didn’t want the position.  Her response was, “well, that is the job you are going to get (really?).

Weeks went by and I received another call. The voice on the other end said, we have not seen your application.  Well,  that is because I have not applied (duh).  I was surprised to receive the call because two or three months had passed.

What changed my mind?

Psalms 119:133 says order my footsteps by your words.

I went to the altar to have my pastor pray with me (it was not my first time seeking an answer for my current dilemma).  The word I received (yes, I believe God still speaks) was, “Marilyn, when God opens a door, whether you like it or not, step through it.”  Enough said!  There was nothing left to do but follow God’s leading.

Revelation 3:8 (NLT) I know all the things you do, and I have opened a door for you that no one can close. You have little strength, yet you obeyed my word and did not deny me.

Needless, to say I accepted the position, that position led me to my current role (which I love). Was it God ordering my footsteps?  Absolutely!  Every position that I interviewed for, prior to accepting this job, does not exist today.  Some positions were eliminated due to layoffs and others because of outsourcing.  We serve a God who knows the beginning and the end.  When God open doors it is to grow us. People can say they were in the right place at the right time, it was a chance circumstance but I see it as God leading me to my divine purpose.  It has been 37 years and the clock is still ticking and I give him all GLORY!

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54493_202_96FD432FCA2F94B8A0813D775176235D

9 thoughts on “Happenstance (A Chance Circumstance)

  1. Wow, what a cool story! I remember when I thought 3 years was a long time to stay at one job (in Japan) and I wasn’t sure if I should sign the contract or not. I did but they sent me a letter back saying I changed jobs too frequently to be a good candidate for their school. I was an ESL teacher and moved to many countries throughout my career.
    I love it when God shows us the blessings of following His direction.
    Thank you for this post.
    Amy

    Like

    1. There are times when I feel as if I should have moved, especially, when I see how others have benefited financially. Then I look back and recognize that it is his divine purpose for me. I have surely been blessed in other ways. Thanks, for dropping by…..

      Like

Leave a Reply

