Discern-men-a-tor

Featured image

Discern-men-a-tor is a great sounding word. It could be a super hero’s name. I am the “Discern-men-a-tor. It could also be an instrument that enables you to discern if a person is being real with you. Hold up, Hattie! I have to get out my discern-men-a-tor. It is a fun way to discuss a serious topic.

I never used the terminology “discernment” until I became a born again believer. The more I learned about the wisdom of God, I knew I needed to discern God’s will for my life when it came to my family relationships, job changes, where to invest my money, and my spiritual mentors/shepherds. John MacArthur states that discernment is nothing more than the ability to decide between truth and error, right and wrong. II Tim. 2:15 says we need to study to show ourselves approved unto God, a workman that need not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth. I don’t know about you but I need all the help I can get.  How did I come up with the word discern-men-a-tor? My daughter and I were walking and we began talking about some of the things in our lives where we were seeing God move. It reminded me of what a minister prophesied to us several months earlier. Several of the things he told us, are coming into fruition. She said, “Mom, I forgot about that. We both felt like he was hearing from God. That means our discern-men-a-tor was working.”

At the time we were leaving a memorial service when a random man asked if he could speak with us. I noticed while we were visiting with friends that he had glanced our way a few times but it did not raise any concern in my spirit. He asked us did we mind if he prayed with us. We were on alert because in 1 John 4:3 it says do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, for many false prophets have gone out into the world.  He spoke to my daughter first. As he was speaking, I had a check list going off in my spirit. Yes, that is true, and yes, that is correct. He finally faced me and began, “you have lost someone close to you in your life and you have been questioning God around the circumstance,” “your grandmother was a prayer warrior,” and by the time he finished I was in tears. I was filled with gratitude. In awe of God’s grace and the love he has for me and my daughter.

It is important for us to be able to discern the truth as we grow in Christ. If it were not for the spirit of discernment and the unction of the Holy Spirit, I would not have found my church family (International Christian Center) that put me on the path that I now live.

Recently being married it was important that we found a church home. This particular Sunday I was excited about the church we were going to visit. We had heard good things about the Pastor. I was dressed and about to apply a little eye shadow (I am not a big make up wearer) except something (Holy Spirit) quickened in my heart not to. The church service was wonderful. We went down to the altar with another young lady. That is when things begin to change. The Pastor began to speak harshly to the young women. Saying that a true women of God would not be wearing makeup. He then used me has an example on how she should look. Aren’t you glad God looks at our heart? John 7:24 says, Do not judge appearances, but judge with right judgment. Immediately, I thought, “wait a minute…. the only reason I don’t have makeup on is because of that quickening I felt in my heart”. I could have been that young girl. My heart went out to her. I discerned that this was not the place for me and my family. I respectfully waited for the service to end and I got out of there. We need discernment in every aspect of our lives. So everyone, let’s get out our DISCERN-MEN-A-TORS.

Philippians 1:9 – And this I pray, that your love may abound still more and more in knowledge and all discernment.

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54493_202_96FD432FCA2F94B8A0813D775176235D

7 thoughts on “Discern-men-a-tor

  1. Wow. That story from church blew me away. What a powerful and yet strange situation to be in! I’m thankful that the Spirt continues to lead you to think about big decisions in a deeper way that depend on God’s leading!

    Like

  2. This is good stuff. I use the word ‘discernment’ often too. I tell myself and my kids to be discerning in all areas, with decisions, friends, to have media discernment. It’s so nexessary to keep us on track with what God wants us to be doing.

    Like

  3. Hmmm. We all need to use our “discernmenator” more often. Christian are often led into a lot of circumstances where we should not be because we assume things wearing godly covering are from God. As your story indicates that is not always the case.

    Like

Leave a Reply

