A Call to Pray

I had the opportunity to have an open dialogue regarding the things that are currently going on in our communities. How we as individuals could effect change. And while I was listening the only thing that resonated within my spirit was:

“If my people who are called by my name will humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land (II Chronicles 7:14)

I began to reason, why are we caught off guard when things occur?  Often, we are shocked and walk around in disbelief. Yet, the scripture tells us, “We wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places (Ephesians 6:12). Maybe I am not surprised because I heard my grandmother pray for years “Lord, we live in a mean world and we’re dealing with mean people”. She dealt with people and circumstances the only way she knew how, on her knees.  She lived during a time when injustice was prevalent. When I was growing up I would see her moved to the back of the line at the grocery store. Yet, she resolved to pray. At her home going, people spoke on how she encouraged them to change their circumstances through the power of prayer.

I am not sure where you are in your faith walk but I know that the enemy conquers by dividing and separating. In Mark 3:25, Jesus said, a house divided against itself cannot stand.  Abraham Lincoln penned a speech “A House Divided” to help people recogize the magnitude of their differences.

“A house divided against itself cannot stand.” I believe the government cannot endure permanently half slave and half free. I do not expect the Union to be dissolved — I do not expect the house to fall — but I do expect it will cease to be divided. It will become all one thing or all the other.  – Abraham Lincoln

As long as a nation or community is divided they cannot effect change. Whether you agree with me or not we are in a battle. The only way to win a battle is to arm ourselves. For born again believers, it is through the power of prayer.

We cannot win this war using the weapons the world uses through acts of violence and name calling. The scripture tells us for though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does but use divine power to demolish strongholds (II Corinthians 10: 3-4).

It saddens me that there is a church almost on every corner in this country, yet, the enemy appears to continue to be gaining ground each day. What are we doing to effect change? Are we arming ourselves through prayer or are we using the weapons the world is using? I encourage you to join with me and pray for this nation and our communities.

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54493_202_96FD432FCA2F94B8A0813D775176235D

Leave a Reply

